Josh Guinn receives the American Hero Award

Congratulations Josh Guinn, the recipient of this year’s American Hero Award presented by the Knoxville Optimist Club. Josh is a dispatcher for the Knoxville Police Department and started his career at Knox County Emergency Communications District in 2004. Josh regularly goes above and beyond his duties and was recognized for a job truly well done resulting in a 10 year old child being reunited with his parents. Thank you Josh for the work you do and thank you Knoxville Optimist Club for recognizing the efforts of our local emergency workers.

Alan Bull who is the Technical Services Manager for the District was elected as President of the Motorola Trunking Users Group (MTUG). After being a member for 22years and serving as Tennessee President on two different occasions, Alan ran for National Office and was elected. Alan then served as Past President and in 2008 was elected as treasurer. In 2008 Alan was the recipient of the Danny Smith award (for outstanding achievement in the MTUG organization). Motorola President and CEO Greg Brown, presented the award to Alan in Nashville prior to the Presidential Debates.

Alan is also on the Region 39 700Mhz Planning Committee as Co-Chairman. This group serves to author the rules and regulations for usage of the 700 Mhz Band as set forth by the FCC. Alan has also served on the 800 Mhz Planning Committee since it’s inception some 25 years ago.

In the past year – as a result of action taken by the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) a new Organization was formed called the National Regional Planning Council (NRPC). This group represents the 55 FCC Regions tasked with submitting approved regional plans to the FCC for action. The FCC mandates this process and activity. Alan was elected as the founding Chairman and is currently organizing that group to meet FCC guidelines on the revised 700 MHz Bandplan. Representing Public Safety in the newly formed Public Safety Broadband Licensee and the Public Safety Spectrum Trust Organizations.

Under the Homeland Security District II Interoperability sub-committee, Alan serves as vice Chairman and has been involved in a successful grant project to secure an interoperable network for all of the twenty-four hour dispatch points in the region.

Alan will be working on a committee under SAFECOM to fulfill the Homeland Security requirements of a Statewide Interoperable Executive Committee (SIEC) plan that will assure interoperability between districts, regions, states, and international borders. Alan has recently been named to the Advisory Committee to administer the Public Safety Interoperability Communications (PSIC) grant awarded by Homeland Security under the DTV grant. Combined with this statewide project, Alan has been selected by the Homeland Security Group as a Peer Reviewer of other state plans.

The Knox County Emergency Communications District is the FIRST communications agency in Tennessee to receive this honor, and is one of only seventeen agencies nationwide so accredited. (It is estimated that there are more than 5,500 9-1-1 centers and public safety answering points in the United States.)