The Knox County Emergency Communications District is an independent political body created under Tennessee State Law and as authorized by referendum by the voters of Knox County, Tennessee. The district is charged with providing emergency 9-1-1 telephone access and emergency dispatching service.

To this end, the district employs 78 persons who are trained in this discipline, and in the necessary managerial and technical support services.

The district operates state of the art communication systems including a modern 9-1-1 center, computer aided dispatch system, and a county-wide radio network serving more than 2000 users.

The district is managed by a full time executive director and staff. Oversight is provided by an eleven member board, the makeup of which is dictated by state law.


The Knox County Emergency Communications District operates one of the larger 9-1-1 centers in the State of Tennessee.
Calls are answered and dispatched from a central facility, by trained personnel who are employed by the District.
Pursuant to state law, oversight is provided by an eleven member board of directors, with daily management and supervision provided by a civilian staff.
Board meetings are open to the public and are normally held in the Multipurpose Room at the 605 Bernard Avenue location.

Members of the Knox County Emergency Communications District Board of Directors:

Brad Anders – Finance Committee, Citizen Representative
Mayor Tim Burchett – Board Chair, Finance Committee
 John Fugate – Finance Committee, Citizen Representative
Dr. Russell Frazier – Citizens Representative, Personnel Committee
Sheriff J.J. Jones – Personnel Committee
Ken Knight- Citizen Representative, Finance Committee
Daron Long – EMT Representative, Finance Committee
Chief David Rausch –  Finance Committee Chair
Mayor Madeline Rogero – Vice Chair, Personnel Committee
Chief Stan Sharp – Personnel Committee Chair
Juanita Walls – Citizen Representative, Finance Committee

2018 Board Meeting Dates

  • January 17th – Cancelled due to weather
  • April 18th
  • June 20th
  • October 17th

All meetings will be held in the multi-purpose room at 605 Bernard Avenue at 8:30 am.